Musings about Motherhood

After 3 months of motherhood I am by no means an expert but I have learned a few things that I would like to share.  First, sleeping is like an oasis in the desert.  You can sense it in the distance but never actually reach it.  It is elusive.  Sigh.  Second, personal care goes straight out the window.  I have lost count of the number of times I have left the house with spit-up stains on my clothing while my daughter is dressed to the nines!  I had all of these ideals of never being the mother who leaves the house looking a mess but I can see now why so many mothers run around in their jogging pants and stained tee shirts.  You are just too tired to care.  Third, you have to start getting ready to leave the house at least an hour before you need to be somewhere.  You can’t just pick up your purse and go.  Going anywhere has become a huge production.  There have even been a number of times I questioned whether we really needed to go wherever it is we were planning on going!  Lastly, you would do anything for your child.  It is such a profound love.  It is wrapped up in this tiny person who depends on you for everything.  It is exhausting and exhilarating.  You are tired beyond belief but are rejuvenated by a smile or a laugh or a babble.  In the end it is all worth it.  Avery is the single most amazing thing that I have done.

Leave a Reply

