Shredded Beef Crock Pot Meal

So I am doing really well with the “saving money by cooking in” life improvement goal.  Yesterday morning I put in my handy crock pot a 3 lb beef roast and by the evening I had tender meat ready to be shredded and put on sandwiches.  I found the original recipe online but couldn’t find it again, of course!  So here is what I could remember and the results are very tasty!

3 lb beef roast of choice (I believe my was a chuck roast)

1 med. onion thinly sliced

2-3 garlic cloves (I used the pre-chopped kind and saved myself some work)

1 tbsp of each of the following lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard

1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes

1 package of dried french onion soup mix

1 can of tomato sauce

1/4 cup of brown sugar

Salt to taste

I just dumped all the seasonings right on top of my roast and mixed up a little.  Popped on the lid and cooked it on low for 9 to 11 hrs.  Shred and serve on your favorite roll or bun.  I used pretzel rolls.  So good!

Leave a Reply

