Tuna and Bow Tie Pasta

Have you ever had one of those nights where you open up your pantry and wonder what in the world you are going to make for dinner?  I had one of those nights last night.  I wanted it to be simple and quick with minimal prep time and to use what I had  sitting on my shelves. If you are at all like me your shelves are full of really random items that you had planned on using in a recipe but never got around to it.   Since I don’t shy away from a challenge I went in search of combinations that wouldn’t have us running for the trash can.  So after digging around a bit I found a can of cannelloni  beans, tuna and bow tie pasta.  I tossed these things together with a few other ingredients and I got a pretty tasty meal.

Here’s what you need:

1 box of bow tie pasta

1 can of cannelloni beans, drained and rinsed

2 cans of tuna (I used the kind packed in water but the ones packed in olive oil or the flavored kind would add a lot more zip), drained

2-3 cloves of minced garlic (depends on how much you like garlic)

1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese, plus more for sprinkling

dried basil (I didn’t measure it I just eyeball it and I would say 2 tsp)

salt and pepper to taste

extra virgin olive oil

Here’s what you do:

Boil your pasta according to package directions.  While you pasta is cooking, heat a skillet on medium heat.  Add 2 tbs of olive oil.  Then add your garlic.  Once the garlic starts to brown add your tuna and beans.  Cook for a minute or two until heated through, season with salt and pepper.  Once your pasta has cooked, drain but reserve a little of the cooking liquid.  Put the pasta back into the pot you cooked it in and add the tuna mixture.  Add about 3 to 4 tablespoons of olive oil to the mixture and toss.  Add a little of the cooking liquid if the pasta seems dry.  Season with salt, pepper and basil*.  Toss with the parm and drizzle with olive oil before serving. 

*I think that using fresh basil would be better than dried and add more flavor.  I only had dried on hand so that is what I used.

Leave a Reply

