Family Time Recipe- Slow Cooker Beef Stew

I have always had a love/hate relationship with Sunday.  I loved the time at church and with family but hated knowing that school or work was just around the corner.  Now that I have Avery I feel even more torn between my differing feelings for the day.  To lessen the reality of the work week to follow, we have started making Sunday family day.  This usually means church followed by lunch at my parent’s house.  This is a great time for us to spend with my nephew, Jaxen and for Grandma and Papa Joe to spend with Avery.  I love the memories we are making.  It is so simple but I want Avery to think back on her childhood and remember the times we spent all together.  Having forgotten my good camera at home, I used my iPhone for picture time.

Jaxen chilling on Jeremy's lap
Jax given some love...hey buddy where is mine?
Avery and Papa Joe having cuddle time

Of course like most of our family gatherings food is involved and my mother prepared a wonderful slow cooker beef stew (thank you Better Homes and Gardens).

Here’s what you need:

2 cups of red potatoes, quartered

4 medium carrots, cut into chunks roughly the size of the potatoes

1 small onion, cut into wedges

1 pound of beef stew meat

1 can of condensed cream of celery soup (unusual yes but oh so yummy!)

1 cup of beef broth

1/2 tsp of dried thyme

1- 9oz package of frozen green beans, thawed

Here’s what you do:

Dump all ingredients into your slow cooker and cook on low 8-9hrs or high 4-41/2 hrs.  Serve with crusty bread for dipping!

Leave a Reply

