Avery’s Baby Blanket

It is done!  That’s right, I have finally finished Avery’s baby blanket (insert applause here).

I started this blanket not long after I found out I was pregnant.  I would work on it here and there thinking I had 9 months, that is so much time!   Ha!   Avery is now 5 months old and it is finally done.

I have to admit that this blanket is not without its mistakes, but if you ask me that is what makes it so special.  I hope that one day Avery will give this blanket to her own child.  If you would like to make your own version of Avery’s blanket…

Here’s what you need:

4 skeins of your choice color yarn (med. #4)

1 skein of coordinating color yarn

Size 10 1/2 US needles

plastic sewing needle

 

Here’s what you do:

Cast on 136 sts in the main color choice

Row 1- K

Row 2-P

Continue in stockinette stitch for 120 rows.

Row 121- change colors and continue in stockinette stitch (total of 60 rows)

Row 181- 300 change back to main color, continue in stockinette stitch

Bind off, weave in tails

You will produce a blanket with a vertical stripe down the center.  I know, I am a rebel!

 

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Thank you, thank you! It was truly a labor of love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

