Homemade Pancake Recipe

Every so often I have a breakfast-for-dinner craving.  Tonight it was pancakes.  I decided to try my hand at making my own.  The results were very yummy!

My husband wanted a traditional pancake, but I had to jazz mine up a little.  So how does one do this without making two different batches of batter?  I am so glad you asked!  You sprinkle whatever additional goodness you want on the cake as it is cooking! Problem fixed and pancake making commences.

Here’s what you need:

1 egg

1 cup of flour

3/4 to 1 cup of milk ( I used closer to a cup to get the consistency that I wanted)

2 tbsp of oil

1 tbsp of sugar + more for sprinkling

3 tsp of baking powder

1/2 tsp of salt

1 tsp of vanilla extract

pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, fresh fruit, chocolate chips…)

 

Here’s what you do:

Whisk the egg, milk, oil, and vanilla together in a small bowl.  In a separate bowl measure the dry ingredients.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet.  Mix together, but don’t over mix.  You may have lumps.  I added milk until I got the desired consistency.  Cook on a greased griddle over medium heat.  Cook for about 3 minutes on each side.  Add extra goodies while the first side is cooking.  Sprinkle pumpkin pie spice and a little sugar (or whatever you wish to add) over the wet side just before you flip.  It is a nice surprise for your taste buds!  This makes roughly 8 medium pancakes.

Serve warm with butter and maple syrup.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

