Roasted Pear and Sweet Potato Baby Food

Well, I made the leap and attempted to make my own baby food.  I have to say it was pretty simple!  I decided to start with pears and sweet potatoes.  I just have to say that the money I have saved already is unbelievable!  I was able to buy a bag of organic pears for $2.50 and a bag of sweet potatoes for $1.99 (Thank you Trader Joe’s)!  I made a small batch to start with.  I wanted to see how it would go and if Avery would like it.  It was a huge success!!

Avery couldn’t get enough of it.  I have never seen her open her mouth that eagerly with the store-bought brands!

With half the bag of pears and sweet potatoes I got 5 servings of each!  If I bought the organic food in the pouches I would have spent $.99 per serving.  So for $2.25, I was able to make the equivalent of $10.00 worth of store-bought baby food!  That is a savings of $7.75!  It totally blows my mind!  This is definitely the route to go!

I was able to freeze four servings!

If you would like to make your own baby food…

Here’s what you need:

4 ripe pears

2 large or 3 small sweet potatoes

Here’s what you do:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Peel, slice and core the pears and spread on a baking sheet.  Poke holes in the skins of the sweet potatoes.  Place both into the oven.  After 25 minutes remove the pears.  Continue baking the sweet potatoes 15-25 minutes or until a fork can be pushed in easily.  Let both cool.  Starting with the pears, toss into the food processor and blend.  Add water, as needed,  to produce a smooth consistency.  For the sweet potatoes, remove the skins and chop into chunks.  Clean the bowl of the processor and repeat the steps with the sweet potatoes.  Pour into an ice-cube tray or baby food saver trays and freeze for up to 3 months.  Makes roughly 5 servings of each food.

Let me know if you try it and how your little one likes it!

Go and Create!

Rachel

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ally says:

    I’ve been making my own food for Holden, it is amazing how much $$ can be saved and how much more he likes my homemade food! The biggest perk so far is that he’s been willing to eat everything, even peas and broccoli since they taste SO much better fresh than jarred! Happy cooking mama!

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      I love it! I can’t wait to make more! She also had avocado tonight! She liked that too.

      1. Ally says:

        we haven’t tried that yet, sounds yum!

Leave a Reply

