Moroccan Chicken Recipe

So I went half way around the world to get this recipe!  Ok maybe not but I did go to another site.  The original recipe came from weelicious.com.  I tweaked it just a little and it turned out great.  My husband, God love him, was not raised to eat adventurously. Since meeting and marring me he has been exposed to a whole new realm in food.  Some he has liked and others not so much.  I wasn’t sure what he would think of this dish but it turned out he love it!

If you would like to try my version of Moroccan chicken…

Here’s what you need:

1 tbsp of oil (I used olive oil but I was thinking grape seed oil would be nice too)

1 small onion, thinly sliced

1 tsp of each paprika and salt

1/2 tsp of each cinnamon and cumin

1/4 tsp of ginger

1- 15 oz can of diced tomatoes

1- 8 oz can of tomato sauce

1 can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans

4 chicken breasts

1 cup couscous

 

Here’s what you do…

Saute the onion in oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Once translucent, add all the spices and cook until fragrant.  Add the can of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, stir and bring to a boil.  Add in the chickpeas/garbanzo beans and chicken.  Stir to coat.  Reduce to a simmer and cover for 20 minutes.  I had rather large chicken breasts so I added on 10 minutes.  I served my chicken with couscous.  Wonderful!

Go and Create!

Rachel

One Comment Add yours

  1. lizard266 says:

    And who made it first hmmm..lol

Leave a Reply

