2 Week Challenge- Chili Baked Potatoes

What could be better than a bowl of chili on a cold, winter’s night?  Chili and a baked potato!  I know the combination is not typical but I like to live on the edge!  (I can hear my husband cracking up upon reading that statement.)  Reality is I had potatoes I needed to use before they went bad and I had just made chili.  Voila, chili baked potatoes.  My chili is a mash of many recipes I have tried out over the years.  It is well liked each time I make it, especially by my husband.  If you would like to make chili baked potatoes…

Here’s what you need…

4 baking potatoes

1 lb ground beef

1 lb of sausage

6 strips of bacon, chopped ( I know it sounds like a lot of meat but it is yummy!)

1 medium onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic. minced

1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 can white bean, drained and rinsed (new addition to my chili)

1 can pinto bean, drained and rinsed ( new addition to my chili)

1 can black bean, drained and rinsed

1- 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes

2- 15 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 cup of beer ( the best is Elliot Ness by Great Lakes Brewery)

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp of cumin

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp of chipotle chili powder

2 tsp of oregano

Here’s what you do…

Cook the bacon over medium heat in a large dutch oven.  Add the ground beef and brown and then add the sausage.  Cook until all the pink is gone.  Add in the onions and garlic.  Cook until softened.  Add in all the spices and stir.  Allow the spice to cook a bit to open up the flavor.  Pour in the beer and mix through.  Then add the tomatoes and beans.  Stir until combined.  Reduce to a simmer and cover.  Cook for an 1 – 1 1/2 hrs.  Fork the potatoes and rub with olive oil.  Roast the potatoes in the oven for an hour at 400 degrees.

Serve the chili over the baked potatoes and top with sour cream, cheddar cheese and green onions.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

