Roasted Carrot and Apple Purees

Since the last batch of baby food was such a success, I did it again!  This time I went all out and made not only roasted pears and sweet potatoes but also roasted carrot and apple purees.  My little taste tester was thrilled with the newest additions.  She truly seems to enjoy my food more than the store-bought variety.

For this round, I roasted the carrots, pears and sweet potatoes all at the same time ( leaving in the potatoes a little longer).  The apples I did on the stove top.  It took roughly an hour and a half from start to finish but it is well worth the time.  If you would like to make roasted carrot or apple puree…

Here’s what you need…

6 small gala or other sweet apple variety (I used organic), peeled, quartered and cored

6-8 carrots (I also used organic here), peeled and cut into similar sized coins

Here’s what you do…

For the carrots… roast at 425 degrees for 25 minutes.  Puree in a food processor, adding water until smooth.  This make roughly 8 servings.

For the apples… place in a steamer basket over boiling water. Steam for 10-12 minutes or until softened.  Puree in a food processor, adding reserved cooking water until smooth.  This makes roughly 8-10 servings.

Go and Create!

Rachel

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kay says:

    Great Blog! My little one prefers homemade too! Good motivation to keep making it.

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Thanks! Avery just loves it I will keep making it. Not to mention it is a lot easier on my grocery budget!

Leave a Reply

