Slow cooker Bourbon Chicken

It is a quarter to ten on a Wednesday night and this is the first chance I have had all evening to sit and write.  Oh these crazy days.  It makes me long for the laziness of summer days (sigh).  Anyway, my lovely sister invited us over for dinner and she prepared a wonderful meal she saw on Table for Two.  Bourbon chicken.  I am talking, mall food court bourbon chicken.  I have to say I am a closet food court chinese food junkie.  I love that stuff, especially the bourbon chicken.  Having this recipe is wonderful because now I don’t have to go anywhere to have that same sweet flavored chicken.  I have made a few changes to the original recipe.  The original calls for 1 cup of honey.  It is a little too sweet for me.  I cut that down.  It also calls for chicken thighs and I always go with chicken breast. If you would like to try my version of bourbon chicken…

Here’s what you need…

1 lb of chicken tenders

3/4 cup of honey

1/2 cup of low sodium soy sauce

1/4 cup of low sugar ketchup

2 tbsp of oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup of diced onions

1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes

cornstarch ( for thickening)

sesame seeds

Here’s what you do…

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl.  Place chicken tenders in the slow cooker and pour over the sauce.  Cook on low for 3-4 hours or high for 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours.    Pull out chicken and cut into chunks.  Just before serving combine some cornstarch (tsp or two) with water and whisk into the sauce to thicken.  Add the chicken back in.  Serve over steamed rice and sugar snap peas.  Top with the sesame seeds.

Go and Create!

Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

