Lemony Chicken Salad

We got home after 5:00 pm from our weekend away and I did not want to cook anything elaborate so I went with chicken salad.  I made a very lemony chicken salad wrapped in a steamed tortilla wrap and topped with lettuce and roasted soy nuts.  Sound crazy but it is so good!  I love crunch in my chicken salad but I didn’t have any celery or almonds so I decided to try something different.  You can’t see the lettuce but it is hiding in there.   Since my poor camera is still dead as a doorknob I had to use my iPhone and it just does not do it justice.  Trust me, if you like lemon you will love this simple chicken salad.   If you would like to make my lemony chicken salad…

Here’s what you need:

3-4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, roasted or boiled and shredded

The zest of one small lemon, and the juice of half

2-3 tbsp of mayo

1 tbsp of either dill relish or dill pickles diced

salt and pepper to taste

Here’s what you do…

Either boil your chicken on the stove top or roast it in a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes.  Cool and shred.  Add mayo, lemon zest and juice, dill relish and salt and pepper to the shredded chicken.  Stir to combine.  Serve either on bread of choice or wrapped in a tortilla wrap with whatever toppings you have on hand.  If you like crunch in your chicken salad you can add almonds, soy nuts, or celery.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

