Baby Food Making Marathon!

Today was our bi-weekly grocery shopping day.  It was also my power baby food making day.  The grocery stores are brimming with deliciously ripe fruits and veggies.

I picked out  some yummy choices for my little peanut.  I made her peas & pears, pumpkin & banana, mango & strawberry, and butternut squash.

If you would like to make my baby food recipes…

Here’s what you need…

1- bag of frozen baby peas

2 medium Bosc pears

1 medium butternut squash

1 medium ripe mango

8 medium strawberries

1/2 cup of pumpkin

1 medium ripe banana

Here’s what you do…

Peas & Pears:

Peel, cut and core pears.  Throw pears and about  3/4 of the bag of frozen peas into a steamer and steam until softened.  Add to the food processor and process until smooth, adding water as needed.  This makes about 9 servings.

Pumpkin & Banana:

Put 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and one sliced banana into a food processor.  Process until smooth.  This runs thick and will need to be thinned with water.  This makes about 5 servings.

Mango & Strawberry:

Peel and chunk mango, and cut the berries into similar size chunks.  Place in a food processor and process until smooth, adding water as needed.  This makes about 5 servings.  I plan on serving this with greek yogurt for a little baby smoothie!

Butternut Squash:

Cut the squash in half, scooping out the seeds.  Roast in the oven at 400 degrees for 1 hr or until very tender.  Spoon out the flesh from the peel and place in a food processor.  Process until smooth, adding water as needed.  This makes about 8 servings.

The colors of this food is brilliant!  It is so fresh and delicious.  I can’t wait for my little foodie to try it!  Hope your baby enjoys these recipes too!

Go and Create!

Rachel

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I admire any mother who is willing to take the time to make their own baby food. It is absolutely better by far than anything you can buy. You have the fruits and vegetables down very well here and very simple. It so happens I also wrote about making baby food in my blog today too! I focused on grain milk and grain cereals for babies ready to get into solid food.

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Thanks! It was a decision I had made when I got pregnant. After returning to work I wasn’t sure but with lots of encouragement I went for it and don’t regret a minute! I will have to check it out! I am always looking for new ideas and combos!

Leave a Reply

