Cheesy Sausage Mini Pizza

I have to take a quick moment to comment on the fact that it was 70 DEGREES in Ohio today!  I am beyond myself with happiness and vitamin D!  Avery, my mom, my sister and nephew all went on a walk in our local park.

Even without green, these trees were so pretty!
Avery chilling in her stroller.

Knowing that I was going to take a nice long walk today, I wanted to make something quick and a part of my diet.  The book has a nice recipe for a cheesy sausage pizza, but it is a little too involved for me.  So I took a little of theirs and mixed it with a little of mine and what I got was a yummy dinner under 500 calories!   So tasty and I was able to make one for lunch tomorrow too.  My husband was happy because he got to bust out the grill for the first time this season!  If you would like to make my version of cheesy sausage mini pizza…

Here’s what you need…

4 large pita

4 pre-cooked sweet basil chicken sausage,

1 roasted red pepper, diced (I used the jarred kind)

1 green onion, whites and greens thinly sliced

1 can of tomato sauce

2 small cloves of garlic (I used the pre-minced kind, yes I AM that lazy :)!)

1 tsp of Italian seasoning

1 cup of part skim mozzarella cheese

grated parmesan

Here’s what you do..

Grill the chicken sausages and slice thinly.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Cook the pita for 5 minutes and remove.  I didn’t have any jarred pizza sauce on hand so I made my own.  Sauté the garlic in a 1/2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil.  Add in the tomato sauce and season with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning.  Simmer on the stove for 5-10 minutes.  Assemble the pizzas.  First, top each toasted pita with 2-3 tablespoons of sauce, 1/4 of the roasted red peppers and onion, 1/4 of a cup of mozzarella cheese, one whole sliced sausage.  Garnish each pizza with freshly grated parmesan.  Bake for 7-10 minutes or until lightly browned.

This is very fast, easy and oh so tasty!  Enjoy!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

