Super Easy Enchilada Casserole

Have you ever had one of those weeks where everyone is running in a different direction at different times? That has been my week. I have spent little time with my husband and Avery and I have been so busy when I get home from work that I haven’t gotten any real play time with her. Thankfully, tonight’s dinner was so easy that I got some good cuddle time with my girl while it was baking. Tonight was enchilada night. Not wanting to waste the time to roll anything, I decided to make it casserole style.

So easy and so good! If you would like to make my enchilada casserole…

Here’s what you need…

1- 16 oz jar of enchilada sauce, red or green the choice is yours (I happened to use red)

12 organic corn tortillas

3 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded or 3 cups of rotisserie chicken

1-2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheese

1 can of non-fat refried beans

2 green onions (optional, I actually left this out this time for my onion hating husband)

Here’s what you do…

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. In a 9×13 baking dish, spoon some of the enchilada sauce onto the bottom of the dish to cover lightly. Overlap 6 of the tortillas across the bottom. Spoon refried beans on the tortillas. I used a large soup spoon and put one spoon full on each tortilla and then spread it out. This way I was sure each serving would have beans. Top the beans with the chicken, about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of sauce, and as much cheese as desired (I used about 1 cup of cheese). Cover with the remaining 6 tortillas, overlapping. Top with the remainder or as much sauce as you wish and a sprinkling of cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes or until bubbly. You can up to 6 with this if you serve with a side, otherwise it serves 4 nicely.

After making this I started brainstorming how to add veggies to make it even better. I decided that adding a layer of sauted onions and peppers would be great and have added it to the recipe for future reference. Hope you enjoy!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

