Spinach, Pea & Pear and Peach & Blueberry Baby Food Puree

I have once again realized the cost saving that making my own baby food does for our grocery budget.  We were out-of-town last weekend and I missed my baby-food-making-day on Saturday.  We were down to the last few servings and I knew we would need something to cover us until I could make more.  I bought six jars of organic baby food and it cost my $6.  This will only last us a day and a half.  For the same amount of money I made 13 servings of spinach, pea and pear puree and still have half a bag of peas and spinach left over for the next round.  I am blown away every time I break it down.  Plus it is kind of fun thinking of new food combos that might be tasty.  This is especially true now that so many wonderful fruits and veggies are coming back into season!  Now that Avery is a little older I can be a little more adventurous with my combinations.  These fruits and veggies really pair well together.  The peaches have a tart sweetness balanced by the mild sweetness of the blueberry.  The pears add a touch of sweetness to these two super veggies. 

If you would like to make these purees…

Here’s what you need...

6 oz of frozen spinach

6 oz of frozen peas

3 Bosc pears; peeled, cored and diced

16 oz of frozen peaches

1 pint of blueberries

Here’s what you do…

For the spinach, pea and pear puree:

Steam the spinach and peas together until tender.  Put all three ingredients into the food processor and process until smooth, adding water when needed.  Makes about 13 servings.

For the peach and blueberry puree:

Steam the frozen peaches until tender.  Toss peaches and blueberries into the food processor and process until smooth, adding water as needed.  Makes about 9 servings.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Madison Williams says:

    Where did you get the containers for the baby food? I would love to get some for when my little one arrives.

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Many are recycled baby food jars and the plastic ones came from Babies R Us. Small jelly jars would work too!

Leave a Reply

