Salsa Chicken with Homemade Refried Black Beans and Spanish Rice

It is a sad state of affairs in my fridge and cupboard right now.  I  am feeling a little like “Old Mother Hubbard” with nothing in my cupboard.  Well ok I did have a few things and those few things combined to make a pretty delicious meal.  I discovered two lonely jars of salsa just sitting there, looking pathetic.  I had no idea why I had bought them but I decided it was time to use them.  I also knew I had frozen chicken breasts up the freezer.  What could be easier than baked chicken topped with salsa and cheese?  What next… rice.  Well that was simple enough, add salsa to cooked rice and you have a simple version of Spanish rice.  Last I found a can of black beans.  Weirdly enough I always have several cans of beans on hand for emergency situations like this.  I decided to make my own version of refried beans.  Add in a little salsa for flavor and kick and you really got something.  As you can see the salsa was the star of the show and added a different flavor component to each dish.  If you would like to make salsa chicken and all the fixings…

Here’s what you need…

4 medium boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 jars of salsa

1 box of instant rice, chose the serving size that will work for your family.

1 can of black beans

2 cloves of garlic, minced

olive oil

cumin

chili powder

salt/pepper

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Here’s what you do…

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  In a glass baking dish, place the chicken breast.  Sprinkle each side of the breasts with a pinch of cumin and chili powder.  Drizzle with a little olive oil.  Top with 3/4 a jar of salsa.  Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.  Top each chicken breast with the shredded cheddar cheese and bake for 5 more minutes or until the cheese is melted.

On the stove top, cook the rice according to the box directions.  While the rice is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook.  Add in the whole beans.  Smash with the back of a wooden spoon.  Switch to a fork to break up the beans even more.  Once throughly heated, add in 1/4 jar of salsa.  Mix and continue to cook until salsa is heated through.  Once rice is cooked and fluffed, add in salsa, a dash of cumin and chili powder, salt and pepper to taste.

So delicious and it uses up some of that stuff that is sitting in the back of the cupboard.  Hope your family enjoys!

Go and Create!

Rachel

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hungrycupcakes says:

    Looks delish! We made a crockpot salsa chicken that was super easy and yummy! Check it out, you’d love it!

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Oh I will! I am always looking for new crock pot recipes!

Leave a Reply

