Green bean & Pear, Strawberry & Blackberry Oatmeal/ Yogurt, Zucchini &Pea, and Apples with Cinnamon and Nutmeg- Homemade Baby Food

I love that I am on spring break!  I have gotten a lot done, yet not as much as I was hoping.  I had this big list of wonderful projects I wanted to do and well the weather and Avery have not cooperated!  What I have gotten done is a major baby food making day.  I am introducing some more new fruits  and veggies and have combined them with food I already know she loves. What I have come up with is green bean & pear, strawberry & blackberry, zucchini & pea and her favorite apples with cinnamon.  To continue introducing her to new spices, I added nutmeg to her apples.  It tastes amazing and it smelled like an apple pie in my house!  If you would like to make these baby food puree…

Here’s what you need…

16 oz of frozen green beans (you can use fresh if in season)

2 Bosc pears or whatever pears you like

1 package of strawberries

1 package of blackberries

1/2 a 16oz package of frozen peas

1 medium zucchini

4 pink lady apples

cinnamon

nutmeg (I used freshly grated and I noticed a huge difference in the flavor, amazing!)

Infant oatmeal or Greek yogurt

Here’s what you do…

For green bean and pear:

Peel, core and chunk the pear.  Place the beans and the pears in a steamer and steam until soft.  Add to the food processor and process until smooth.  Adding water as needed.  Makes about 9 servings.

For strawberry and blackberry:

Add blackberries and sliced strawberries (tops removed) into a pan with a few tablespoons of water.  Heat over medium heat until the berries start to soften and break down.  Put into a food processor and process until smooth.  Adding water as needed.  Makes about 7 servings.  I made mine thin so that I could add the oatmeal, which thickens it up.   Avery loved it!  You could also mix it with yogurt and make a baby smoothie!

For zucchini and peas:

Cut zucchini into half-moons and place into a steamer.  Steam for 1 minute then add in the peas and steam until tender.  Add to the food processor and process until smooth.  Adding water as needed.  Makes about 8 servings.

For apples:

Peel (if desired), core and quarter.  Place onto a cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg.  Roast for 25 minutes at 425 degrees.  Once roasted, place into a food processor and process until smooth.  Add water as needed.

These apples are so good you could replace your jarred applesauce with this!  So yummy and flavorful with no added sugar!

Hope your little one enjoys as much as mine does!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

