Sweet and Tangy Grilled Pork Chops, Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Cinnamon Butter and Sauteed Haricots Verts

 

It was my first day back to work, and what a long day it was.  It is always hard to go back on a Monday after a long break, staring down the tunnel of a full week.  But enough of my pathetic woes, it is time for dinner and I have quite the meal planned. It is beautiful weather here in Ohio and so that of course means grilling out at our house.  Tonight’s menu includes: sweet and tangy grilled pork chops with roasted sweet potatoes topped with cinnamon butter and haricots verts sautéed with garlic and olive oil.  A well-rounded meal with lots of flavor and appeal!

I got the marinade recipe from Foodnetwork.com, courtesy of Sunny Anderson.  It is simple and I loved the fact that I had all the ingredients on hand!  A huge plus in my world.  The rest is all me :)!  If you would like  to make this awesome meal…

Here’s what you need…

4 boneless pork chops

1/4 cup of honey

2 tablespoons oil (I used canola, the original called for vegetable)

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tsp of cumin

1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes

12 oz package of haricots verts, or other green bean

olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice, or one squirt of a fresh lemon half

4 medium sweet potatoes

1/2 stick of butter, softened

1/4 tsp of cinnamon (I added just a pinch more because I like mine with a stronger cinnamon flavor, play around with it)

1/2 tsp of sugar

 

Here’s what you do…

For the pork chops:

Put the honey, vinegar, canola oil, cumin and red pepper flakes into a plastic bag.  Add in your pork chops and marinate for one hour on the counter.  Remove from marinade and grill, 4 minutes on first side and 3 minutes on the other.

For the sweet potatoes:

Roast the sweet potatoes at 425 degrees for 30-45 minutes depending on the size of your potato.  While the potatoes are roasting, set out a half a stick of butter to soften.  Once softened, mix in cinnamon and sugar until creamy.  I put my butter back into the fridge until I needed it.  Garnish the baked sweet potato with the cinnamon butter.

For the beans:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add in the beans and cook until crisp tender, about 3-4 minutes.  Immediately move the beans to a bowl with ice water to preserve the beautiful green color.  Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add in garlic and cook for a minute then add in the beans and stir.  Season with salt, and cook for a minute.  Add in lemon juice and stir.  Serve immediately.

 

This is such a delicious meal.  Healthy and light, so that you don’t feel stuffed after eating it.  This way you can have dessert!  This is how my mind always works…so sad for my thighs!  I hope you enjoy!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

