Chicken and Snow Pea Stir Fry

I can’t think of a quicker meal than stir fry, not to mention I get to use my wok!  Anything cooked in a wok seems to cook so much faster.  This is especially nice after a long day at work, which of course is everyday.  Anyway, this meal was a quick throw together with stuff I already had in my fridge.  I have to say though it is really tasty.  The picture does not do it justice.

If you would like to make my chicken and snow pea stir fry…

Here’s what you need…

4 chicken breasts, cut into chunks

9 oz of snow peas (or 12 oz depending on what you can find in your grocery store)

1 tablespoons of light sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1/2 tablespoon of sesame oil

2 tablespoons of oil (I use grapeseed oil)

2 teaspoons of grated ginger

2 garlic cloves

1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (you can add more if you like more heat)

sesame seeds for garnish

1 cup of basmati rice (makes 4, 1/2 cup servings)

salt and pepper

Here’s what you do…

For the rice:

Place 1 cup of rice in a medium pot and rinse three times to remove some of the starch.  You will notice the water is pretty cloudy on the first rinse and should look cleaner with each additional.  Place washed rice in the pot with 1.5 cups of water and a drizzle of olive oil.  I do this to keep the rice from sticking together.  Bring to a boil uncovered.  Once at a boil, reduce the heat to simmer and cover for 10 minutes.  After the 10 minutes, remove from the heat and leave covered for an additional 15 minutes or until all the water is absorbed.  Fluff with a fork.

For the stir fry:

Heat the oil in a wok or large skillet over medium heat.  Add in chicken and cook for 5 minutes then add in garlic.  Once chicken is cooked through and garlic is turning golden, add in the snow peas, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, sesame oil, ginger, red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste.  You may need to adjust your seasonings depending on the size of your chicken breasts.  Taste as you go.  Makes 4 servings.

Serve chicken and snow peas over the rice.

My husband really liked this dish.  It is simple and good.  He loves stir fry so I am always trying new recipes out on him.  Let me just tell you that when we were dating I made a simple stir fry with sesame oil.  I had never used sesame oil.  I thought it was like olive oil.  I was sooo wrong.  We had to throw it out and go out to eat!  I have improved since then and am not as generous with the sesame oil.

Hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

