Chicken Lemon Artichoke Pesto Pizza Boats- A Retro Dinner Updated

 

It feels like forever since I have had time to post anything!  These last couple of months of school are always so busy I feel like I am burning my candle at both ends.

Because my nights are busy with Avery and school work, most of our dinners have been pretty mundane.  However, I did come up with a great updated version of a classic childhood dinner- Pizza Boats!

I am going to honest and tell you that I was really lazy and had no desire to pull out my food processor to make the lemon artichoke pesto.  I went to the freshly prepared foods section and bought an already prepared one.  I will say that it is my homage to semi-homemaking!  You of course can make your own pesto and I have a great one that I found here or you can be lazy like me and get one already prepared :)!

If you would like to make my lemon artichoke pizza boats…

Here’s what you need…

1 loaf of ciabatta bread sliced in half long ways

4 oz of goat cheese

2 grilled chicken breasts, cubed or shredded whichever you prefer

1 cup of mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese

1- oz container of lemon artichoke pesto or roughly a cup of homemade

olive oil

Here’s what you do…

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Take the two halves of the bread and drizzle a little olive oil onto each cut side.  Top with the pesto and chicken.  Crumble the goat cheese and sprinkle evenly over each pizza boat.  Place the mozzarella and parm cheeses on top.

Cook for 10-12 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the edges of the bread toasted golden brown.

For easy eating, cut each boat in half and then half again to get 4 small squares.  This can serve 4 or 3 if you have a husband like mine!  Serve with a nice salad.

This is seriously good.  I am adding it to my monthly rotation for sure!  A childhood favorite all grown up!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

