Mother’s Day Weekend Activities and Recipes

I just experienced my first Mother’s Day and it was wonderful!  I got to spend the day with Jeremy and Avery, as well as, my sister and nephew.  My mom was out-of-town during the day but we got to have dinner with her that evening.

My wonderful day actually started on Saturday when my sister, a friend, the kids and I went to a local festival.

What fun!

It was a little crowded for us but I just love the whole festival vibe you get.

 

 

The smell of elephant ears was intoxicating!

We stayed for a little while then decided to hit up a local ice cream stand to finish off our day.

After cotton candy and an ice cream cone, Jaxen was wired!  We parted ways with plans for the next day.

Sunday morning came and my wonderful husband let me sleep in while he got up with our early bird.  We headed to church, Avery dressed in my favorite cherries dress, to spend some quality family time.

Jeremy has to work most Sundays so it was a real treat to have him with us in service.  We followed church with a wonderful lunch that my sister and I planned out.  I know, I know we are not supposed to cook or do any of those things on Mother’s Day.  However, knowing what my husband is capable of cooking it was best that we make lunch :)!

Oh was it amazing!  Grilled chicken with shrimp marinated in lemon, garlic and olive oil, paired with a veggie filled orzo salad.  Light and refreshing and totally legal on my diet!  I am still dreaming of that orzo salad.  The brain child of my sister and myself, it is one we will make many times.  My husband who shies away from anything with too many veggies loved this dish!!!  Perfect for summer picnics and light dinners, this will be a favorite of your family too!

If you would like to make our orzo salad…

Here’s what you need…

1 cup of whole wheat orzo, cooked according to package directions

1/2 head of broccoli cut into pieces

1 large cucumber, chopped

1 large red pepper, cut into bite sized chunks

1/2 medium onion, chopped

4 oz. package of feta cheese

cherry tomatoes for garnish

1/2 cup of olive oil, we just whisked some in until the dressing was well combined

zest and juice of one lemon

1 tablespoon honey

a pinch of dried parsley and thyme

2 cloves of garlic, minced

salt/pepper

Here’s what you do…

Cook the orzo according to the package directions, drain and set aside to cool.  Chop all the veggies to a similar bite size.  Place into a large bowl and add the cooled orzo.  Whisk the honey, garlic, lemon juice, zest, parsley and thyme together, drizzle in the olive oil until combined.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Add additional lemon juice or oil as needed to get the taste you like.  Pour dressing one the orzo and veggie mixture.  Toss to combine.  Sprinkle on the feta and mix.  Put in the fridge to chill for 30 minutes to an hour.  Serve along side chicken or shrimp for a wonderful picnic side.  This will serve 4 people generously.

I hope that all my mommy friends out there had a wonderful Mother’s Day.  I will never forget my first, thanks to my husband and daughter.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

