Spinach and Artichoke Topped Chicken with Spaghetti Squash

 

What to make for dinner? What to make for dinner? What to make for dinner?  I said it so many times in a row that it started to sound like a Gregorian Chant!  I was at a loss.  I knew I had chicken but nothing else I really wanted to make.  Trying to limit my carbs, I didn’t want to make pasta or rice.  I scoured the internet for something different and came across this recipe at ReadySetEat.com.  It is a twist on spinach and artichoke dip.  I love the flavor of the topping with the chicken.  It is wonderful!  I didn’t want to do a starch so I went with roasted spaghetti squash.  It so closely mimics pasta that I may use that in place of angel hair pasta in future recipes!  This dinner was a hit with my sister and makes 6 servings, enough for lunches the next day!  If you would like to make spinach and artichoke topped chicken with spaghetti squash…

Here’s what you need…

3 lb spaghetti squash

6 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless

1/2 tsp of garlic salt, divided

1/2 tsp of coarsely ground black pepper

1 can (14oz) artichoke hearts in water, drained and chopped

3 cups of loosely packed baby spinach leaves

1/3 cup of light mayo

1/4 cup of light cream cheese

1 tsp of spicy brown mustard

olive oil

salt/pepper

Here’s what you do…

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Slice squash in half lengthwise, drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Place the squash cut side down onto a cookie sheet and roast for 25-30 minutes or until tender.

Meanwhile, heat a grill to medium heat.  Sprinkle the chicken with 1/4 tsp of the garlic salt and pepper.  Grill chicken about 10 minutes (switching sides after 5 minutes) or until it is no longer pink.

In a microwave safe bowl, combine spinach, artichokes, cream cheese, mayo, 1/4tsp of garlic salt  and the spicy brown mustard.  Cover and microwave on HIGH for 4 minutes or until hot and creamy, stirring halfway through.

To plate, scrape the flesh of the squash with a fork (will look like angel hair pasta).

Place 1/4- 1/2 cup in the center of the plate.  Place the chicken on top of the squash, slightly off to the side.  Top the chicken with the spinach and artichoke mixture.  Serve while hot.

 

This is really good!  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!
Go and Create!

Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

