Chicken and Veggie Stirfry

I love cooking with my wok because of how simple and easy it is.  Dinner is done in less than 30 minutes, which is helpful when you have a 9 month old yelling at you and trying to break free from her living room barricade.

I had tons of fresh veggies in my crisper that I needed to use before they went bad.  I combined red peppers, onions and sugar snap peas for a wonderfully filling stir fry.  My husband, the carnivore, is not particularly found of meals without meat.  So I always add in some kind of animal protein for him.  This meal would make a wonderful vegetarian meal.  I will once again apologize for the bad picture.  My camera died just I went to take the shot.  Wouldn’t you know I was one replacement battery short! Ugg!

Anyway if you would like to make my chicken and veggie stir fry…

Here’s what you need…

1 lb of boneless, skinless chicken breast; cut into cubes

2 red peppers, julianne

8 oz bag of sugar snap peas

1/2 medium onion, cut into thin half circles

1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil

grapeseed oil or olive oil

chili oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tablespoon of minced ginger

soy sauce

juice of half a lime

Here’s what you do…

Heat the wok over medium heat.  Add in the sesame oil and the chicken, season with salt and pepper.  Cook until chicken no longer has any pink.  Remove from the wok and set aside.  Add in either grapeseed oil or whatever oil you prefer and cook the onions until almost caramelized add in the garlic.  Toss in the peppers, peas, soy sauce to taste ( I used about 3 tablespoons), a couple of dashes of chili oil, and pepper.  Cook until the veggies are crisp tender.  Serve immediately with rice or on its own.  After plating finish the dish with a squeeze of lime juice over the top.

This is really good and the veggies could be swapped out for whatever fresh veggies are in season or available!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

