More Homemade Baby Food

I love that I can be more adventurous with Avery’s food but every once in awhile I go back to things I know she loves and jazz them up a bit.  I went with a more cost-effective approach with frozen veggies.  The only thing not frozen were the sweet potatoes.  Once our farmer’s market is in full swing I will switch to fresh but right now in our area veggies are very expensive.  Not to mention it is much simpler since all you really need to do it thaw!  So for this round I made sweet potatoes with cinnamon, mango pineapple, sweet pea butternut squash, mixed berry yogurt and a veggie medley which includes potatoes, onions, green beans and carrots.  She likes them all 🙂  She is a very good eater and has taken to eating off my plate!  It makes me more aware of what I am eating and I make sure it is something that I could give her as well.  She is a huge fan of my meatballs!

If you would like to make my baby food…

Here’s what you need…

2 large sweet potatoes

cinnamon

12 oz bag of frozen peas (bag sizes vary so go with whatever amount you wish)

12 oz bag of frozen butternut squash

12 oz bag of frozen mixed berries

16 0z container of plain greek yogurt

12 oz bag of frozen pineapple

12 oz  bag of frozen mango

10-12 oz bag of frozen mixed veggies of any variety

Here’s what you do…

Thaw all the bags of frozen food in the fridge over night.

For the pineapple mango:

Place in a food processor with all the juice and process until smooth or until it is the consistency you like.  Avery is eating chunkier food so my is not smooth.  No water is really needed with the juices from the bag. Makes about 8 servings.

For the sweet pea and butternut squash:

Place both veggies into the food processor and process until smooth.  Add water as needed.  Makes 10-12 servings.

For the mixed berry yogurt:

Place berries into the food processor and blend until smooth or until the consistency you like.  Place berry mixture into a bowl and stir in 16 oz container of greek yogurt or whatever yogurt you like to use.  I use plain because I don’t want the added sweetness that is in the flavored kinds.  This can be frozen.  Actually it is really good frozen!  Avery will eat it both ways.  Makes about 10 servings.

For the sweet potatoes:

Roast the potatoes at 425 degrees for about 25-30 minutes or until cooked through.  Scoop out the insides and add to the food processor.  Sprinkle in cinnamon and process until smooth.  This smells amazing by the way.  It tastes pretty good too!  Makes about 8 servings.

For the mixed veggies:

Add the thawed veggies to the food process or and process until desired consistency.  Add water as needed.  Makes about 8-10 servings.

I have really enjoyed making Avery’s food.  It has challenged me as a mother and as a cook to come up with interesting and fun combinations.  What I have created is a little foodie who loves food.  Hope you enjoy!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

