Roasted Potatoes and Cheesy Zucchini

DSCN1008

I have been on a roasted veggie kick.  I know, I know it is mainly a winter thing but with all these amazing veggies from the farmer’s market I can’t help but roast.  My two favorite are zucchini and of course potatoes.  I have done zucchini two ways and both are good but the second, a cheesy zucchini, was such a hit at a dinner we had with friends I had to share.

Back Camera

I can not claim it as my own…my sister found it on pinterest… but I changed it up to make it mine.  The were also a huge hit and very simple.  If you would like to make my potatoes and zucchini…

Here’s what you need:

4 small or 2 large zucchini

4 medium baking potatoes

olive oil

butter

salt/pepper

herbs de provence

Italian blend shredded cheese

3 cloves of garlic thinly sliced

Here’s what you do:

For the potatoes…

Wash and dry each potato.  Now make even, thin slices into the potato without slicing all of the way through.  This takes a little practice before you get the feel of it.  Spread the slices apart a little without breaking them off.  Now I did not give a specific amounts for the butter or olive oil because it really just depends on what you like.  At this point I alternated putting a slice of garlic and a slice of butter between the potatoes slices.  Depending on the size of your potatoes you may need more than 3 garlic cloves.  Once you have “stuffed” all the potatoes, place them on a sheet pan, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast at 450 degrees for about 40-50 minutes.

For the cheesy zucchini:

Slice your zucchini into thin, even slices (not too thin you need it to hold up under the cheese).  Spread out over a sheet pan.  Season the slices with salt, pepper and herb de provence and a very light drizzle of olive oil.  Top each slice with a little bit of shredded Italian cheese blend.  The one I found in my local grocery was a blend of Romano, Parm, Asiago, Mozz, and Provolone cheeses.  If you can’t find a blend just go with a cheese that has a good melt and browns.  Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees or until the cheese is nicely melted and browned.  Serve immediately.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as we do!  I can’t wait to get back to the farmer’s market!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

