Braised and Amused

 

In every cooking magazine I have checked out recently, braising has been the “in” cooking method.  Having never actually braised anything, I decided to give it a try.  Thanks to Better Homes I found a yummy beer braised chicken recipe that I slightly altered.  It is delicious!  My husband was VERY happy because it included beer :0  He was my beer expert for this recipe and after making it we have decided to try it with different kinds of beer to see how it changes the flavor profile.  I am excited about that because he never shows an interest in my cooking, other than eating it that is.  Here is the recipe as I made it tonight.

Here’s what you will need…

8 chicken thighs skin on/bone in or skinless/boneless (this will feed four, I used a package of 6 for the two of us and lunch leftovers)

1 tbsp of packed brown sugar

1 tsp of chili powder

1/2 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp of black pepper

1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper

1 tbsp of vegetable oil

1/2 large onion, sliced

2 tbsp of flour

1 12oz bottle of brown ale

1/2 cup reduced sodium chicken stock

4 cloves of garlic

 

Here’s what you do…

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a small bowl mix together the brown sugar, chili powder, salt, pepper and red pepper.  Rub onto the chicken and let sit for 10 min.

In an extra-large, oven safe skillet heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add chicken and cook until browned on both sides.  Remove chicken (if using skin on, drain fat except for 1 tablespoon) and set aside.
In the same pan add in the onion and cook for about 5 minutes or until the onions are softened.  Add in the flour and cook and stir for 1 minutes.  Add in broth and beer, bring to a simmer.  Put the chicken back into the simmering liquid and add in the garlic.  Cover and bake for 40 minutes.

 

What you get is the most tender and flavorful chicken!  To beef it up even more you can add in carrots and celery (my husband hates celery so I leave that out).  Just soften them with the onion.  I served mine with mashed potatoes.  Awesome!

Hope you enjoy and let me know if you find anything else to braise!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

