Sausage and Cheese Breakfast Muffins

DSCN1326

Just before school started back up I wanted to make sure I had breakfast covered for the first two weeks.  Avery was going to the babysitter and I had to get us both together and out the door before 7am.  A monumental feat for someone who is always running a little late!  I had to have something that I could grab and eat on the fly.  I found a recipe in Yum for Kids magazine and modified it to my tastes.  These muffins are not only delicious but also full of the all the yumminess of a traditional breakfast.  They are a grab and go that is filling and goes great with coffee.  Not only can these muffins be great for weekly breakfasts but with the holidays coming, these muffins would be perfect for Thanksgiving morning when you don’t want to eat too much or have lots of people to feed.  I am also thinking these would be perfect for all the family Christmas morning.  The possibilities are endless.  If you would like to make my sausage and cheese breakfast muffins…

Here’s what you need…

1 egg

1 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 cup cooked, crumbled sausage (I bought the pre-cooked turkey sausage, another time saver) or more to your liking

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 cups flour ( I blended all-purpose and whole white wheat)

2 tbsp of sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp of salt

1/8 tsp of garlic powder

1/2 tsp of pepper

Here’s what you do…

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In a large bowl, beat the egg, milk and oil together.  Stir in the sausage and cheese.  Add in the dry ingredients until blended.  Fill paper liners 2/3 full.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Allow to cool on the rack out of the muffin tin.  Store in the fridge and microwave for 30 seconds just before you eat.  Makes 12.

DSCN1324

Hope you enjoy!

Go and Create!

Rachel

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Ashley says:

    This looks so yummy! I can’t wait to try it. I found it via Pinterest 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      They are very yummy! What I like is you can change them up to your taste! Let me know how you like them!

      1. Ashley says:

        They turned out awesome! I used some leftover ham in place of the sausage 🙂 I love that they aren’t egg based as I don’t care for eggs. It seems like 99% of breakfast foods seem to be loaded with them. I also seem to always have everything on hand.

      2. Rachel Miller says:

        Oh I am so glad! Ham sounds so good! I will try that the next time I make them!

  2. Crystel says:

    In the process of baking them! But I used hot sausage and maple bacon! Can’t wait to eat them!!! 🙂 thanks for the recipe!!!! ❤

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      They are a huge favorite in our house! I am totally going to try them with hot sausage and maple bacon! Oh how yummy!

  3. kristi says:

    Can they be frozen?

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      Yes I think they would do nicely in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

