Breakfast Cookies

IMG_0376

Well I am working on eating healthy and losing weight…again.  Why is this so hard?  Anyway, I have found some pretty amazing recipes on Pinterest and here is one.  Simple, sweet and yummy.  What more can you ask for from a breakfast food?  And on top of that it is healthy!  You probably have most, if not all, of the ingredients in your fridge/pantry.  Do yourself a favor and make these yummy “treats”.

Here’s what you will need:

2 ripe bananas

1 cup of unsweetened applesauce

1 1/2 cup of rolled oats

1/3 cup of raisins, cranberries, or other small pieces of dried fruit

1/4 cup of walnuts

1 tsp of vanilla

1 tsp of cinnamon (I like a little more so I just dumped some in :))

pinch of nutmeg

Here’s what you do:

Mash your bananas, mix together with applesauce, vanilla and cinnamon.  Stir in oats and raisins.  Let the whole mixture stand for about 10 minutes.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Drop your “dough” onto a parchment paper or silpat lined cookie sheet.  Press flat.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Allow to cool on a wire rake before storing in a plastic container.

Avery and I loved these!  I would eat 2 with an apple for breakfast and it is very satisfying.  I would also have them for an after school snack to kill the hunger before dinner.  I will be making these often, especially for Avery.  I love knowing she is eating something that is good for her.  I hope your family enjoys them as much as mine.  Thank you Pinterest and Watch What I Eat blog!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

