Southwest Stuffed Peppers

IMG_0377

I have read the book “Eat to Live” and it has really changed my way of thinking about food and what I have been eating.  I realized that veggies have been woefully lacking from my diet and from my families.  I decided that I was going to limit my meat intake and up my vegetable/bean intake.  I had to be creative if I didn’t want to get bored quickly.  Stuffed peppers seemed logical but I had to rethink the filling.  Here is what I came up with!

Here’s what you need:

2 red peppers, cut in half lengthwise and insides scooped out

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 bag of frozen corn

1 can of fire roasted tomatoes and green chili’s (do not drain)

1 clove of garlic ,minced

1/2 small onion, diced  ( you can add more onion if you like, I have to limit cuz the hubs hates onion)

1 tsp of cumin

mozzarella cheese for topping

Here’s what you do:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  On the stove over medium heat, cook the onions until softened.  Add in the garlic and allow to lightly browned.  Mix in beans, tomatoes and cumin.  Simmer mixture for 20 minutes.  Add corn and simmer for 5 additional minutes.  In a glass baking dish, place peppers cut side up.  Spoon bean and corn mixture into the pepper shells.  Top each pepper with mozzarella cheese.  Place dish on the middle oven rack and pour 1/3 cup of water into the bottom of the dish.  Cover with foil and bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until peppers are softened.

While vegetarian, these peppers are delicious and filling.  I had some left over filling and I mixed it with some cooked quinoa and it was wonderful!!  You could also eat the filling with tortilla chips or wrapped into a flour tortilla.  Lunch is served!

IMG_0378

Hope you like!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

