One of Those Days

Have you ever had one of those days that makes you want to cry, scream and use words that you are not usually comfortable thinking let alone saying?  You know the kind where your hair turns instantly grey and your blood pressure raises 20 points?  That was my Friday.  One stressful event piled upon another until my head was pounding and my eyes were burning trying to keep back the tears of frustration.  My usual response to stress like this is to eat.  I am an emotional eater (thus the need for weight loss) and this time was no different.  However, I didn’t go too crazy like I would normally.  I ordered pizza but only ate a couple of pieces not the whole pie and I did not get the chocolate lava cake that I really wanted.  Instead I made a mug cake.  It satisfied all my sweet tooth needs without totally blowing my diet (the pizza did enough damage).  I made a chocolate chip cookie mug cake.

IMG_0460

I found it on the internet but didn’t pin it or write it down so I can’t give credit to whoever originally thought of this recipe.  It is simple and quick and pretty good.  I actually couldn’t eat the whole thing!  I would recommend having this on hand when you are in a state of chocolate emergency and you just need SOMETHING.

Here’s what you need:

1 egg

3 tbsp of brown sugar

1/3 cup of flour

1 tbsp of soften butter

3-4 tbsp of mini chocolate chips (I had regular sized and just dumped some in)

Here’s what you do:

Put the ingredients in the mug in the above order.  Stir to completely mix up the ingredients.  Your mug will look a little messy.  Microwave for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes.  Grab a fork and enjoy!

I have to say that after eating this I did feel a little better.  I knew I wasn’t going overboard.  I was still staying in control but the chocolate gave me the comfort I needed.

I hope this mug cake will warm your night as it did mine.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

