Homemade Chicken Nuggets

photo-11

I have been making more of an effort to purchase and eat less processed foods. I am not perfect at it but I just want Avery to love the taste of fresh fruits and veggies instead craving the sodium and sugar filled processed foods that are a favorite among children. I decided to try my hand at making my own chicken nuggets. The recipe is simple and the nuggets come out crunchy. Avery seemed to like them and so did my big kid (my husband ) :). I have to admit they are more labor intensive. Not quite the pull out of freeze and bake convenience that you get used to with store-bought chicken nuggets. But what I did gain was peace of mind, knowing I controlled the ingredients and thus controlled what went into our bodies. The original recipe comes from here. Ok so the picture is not great I will admit. I kinda forgot to snap a pic before I handed out the plates and everyone chowed down…oops! So what you see are is the picture of left overs that Jeremy got to eat for lunch the next day.

If you would like to try making your own nuggets…

Here’s what you need:

1 lb of boneless, skinless chicken breast (I used chicken tenders, much easier I think) cut into bite sized chunks

1 large egg

1 1/2 cups of panko

1/3 cup of milk (I used 2%)

salt/pepper to taste

1/4 tsp of paprika

pinch of cayenne

1 1/2 tsp of garlic powder

oil

Here’s what you do:

Whisk together the egg and milk, soak chicken in milk mixture. Heat a thin layer of oil in a large skillet over medium heat.

While oil is heating up, mix together the panko and all the seasonings. Dredge the milk coated chicken into the panko. Cook each chicken nugget about 5 minutes on each side. Drain chicken on a paper towel lined plate or baking sheet. Serve while still warm.

I hope you enjoy these as much as my family did!

Go and Create!

Rachel

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

