Getting My Craft On!

photo-22

Having Monday off was wonderful!  I got a lot of stuff done including house cleaning, a good workout, and some crafting.  This was all accomplished during Avie’s unusually long nap time.  I have been itching to do something crafty but haven’t had a moment.  Monday was my day!  Avie’s new crayon box was a mixture of necessity and just-for-fun.  We had the big box of 96 crayons but Avery got ahold of it and well that was the end of that box.  Enter craft paper and an old wipes container.

photo-17

I had scraps from Avery’s first birthday party.  I love the patterns and figured it would be a great way to use up what was left.

photo-18

photo-19

I measured the paper to fit between these raised areas on the wipes container.  I was not about to fight with paper and rounded corners. I then used Modge Podge to glue the paper to the container.  I could have used tape but… I didn’t have any.  What I did have was Modge Podge.  I have to say I like the finish.  It will probably stand up to roughness it will surely face at the hands of my toddler.

photo-20

I did the same thing on the sides with a corrdinating paper.

Finally I added sticker letters.  I found that they blended a little too well.  It’s like reading one of those “I Spy” books.  Do you spy the ‘R’?

photo-21

So I fixed this problem by adding an outline with one of my colored pens.

photo-23

Avery and I really like the finish product.  It’s cute and functional.  I love being a friend of the environment :)!

How was your President’s Day?  Do anything crafty?

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

