Happy Easter Folks!

I am officially on spring break!  Good Friday marked my first day and it has been wonderful!  I really needed this break.  Avery and I got to hang out in the beautiful weather!

IMG_0780

She totally rocks her cool shades :)!

I also spent the weekend getting ready for Easter dinner.  Well my part of Easter dinner.  I was in charge of the veggies and the dessert.  The veggie tray was super easy and required no amount of creativity.  But dessert…now there was my creative challenge!  Here’s is what I came up with.

IMG_0800

I can’t take create it for this.  I saw it at school.  One of the students had brought in something similar.  I decided to give it the old college try and make my own.  I love how they turned out.  I made a simple vanilla buttercream and piped it on with the new piping kit I bought! I used jelly beans I picked up from Trader Joe’s, unsweetened coconut that I dyed green and Twizzlers.  You can use a basic cupcake or you can try my healthy one.  I started a new (rather strict) diet and I didn’t want to totally blow it at our family meal.  The original recipe came from here.  I made a couple of changes to get a delicious chocolate cupcake!

IMG_0799

 

To make the cupcakes:

You will need…

1 c. canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix, just pure pumpkin)

1/2 c. milk ( you can use cow’s, almond, etc.)

2 egg whites

1/2 c. oil (any light-flavored oil)

1/2 c. honey + 2 tablespoons

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 c. flour (the original called for whole-wheat pastry flour)

3/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4-1/2 c of mini chocolate chips (these are optional but very yummy!)

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

Here’s what you do...

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line your cupcake pans with cupcake papers or grease the pan itself. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together your pumpkin, milk, egg whites, oil, honey and vanilla extract. In a second mixing bowl, whisk together your flour, salt, baking soda, and cocoa powder. Whisk the flour mixture into the liquid mixture and blend well. Add in the chocolate chips and stir to blend.  If your batter is too thick, add a little extra milk (about 1/4 c. at a time until you reach a thick, yet runny consistency). I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of milk to get this consistency. Pour into your pans, and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the middle of a cupcake comes out clean.

These are very good and at 149 calories per cupcake (without frosting, sorry 😦 ) a real deal in the calorie department!  I got about 19 cupcakes out of this recipe!

They were a hit with my family and especially Avery.

She was just too cute in her Easter dress today.

IMG_0833

 

I had a hard time getting her to let me take a picture.  She was just too busy!

IMG_0835

 

This is the only one I could get of her and me.  You can tell she is trying to escape to go back to Grandma!

IMG_0834

 

She stood still long enough to dig into her Easter pail though.  She went straight for the chocolate bunny.  That’s my girl!

Today was such a blessed day.  Mom and I organized activities and a play for our kids church Easter service.  We had a lot of amazing helpers who we could not have done anything without!  The kids seemed to have fun.  I know I did :).

I hope your Easter was as beautiful as ours.

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

