As Tasty as a Million Bucks

IMG_0021

My creative meal brain has been slow churning out ideas lately.  Thankfully there is Pinterest.  I have been doing most of my meal planning out of  my recipes board and it has turned out pretty good.  This week I tried the Million Dollar Casserole by Six Sisters’ Stuff.  It was really tasty!  I have to say though after making it I would up the beef and the pasta sauce a little.  However, it was well received by my family and the left-overs have been really yummy.  If you would like to try Million Dollar Casserole…

Here’s what you need:

1 lb. of Ground Beef (you could also use ground turkey)
1/2 jar of Spaghetti Sauce
8 oz of fat free Cream Cheese
1/4 cup of fat free Sour Cream
8 oz. low fat Cottage Cheese
8 oz. of Noodles (I used whole wheat elbow macaroni)
1 cup of Cheddar Cheese

 

Here’s what you do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cook the pasta noodles according to package directions.  Meanwhile in a large skillet, brown up your beef over medium heat until it is no longer pink.  Drain off any fat.  Stir in the spaghetti sauce and let warm through.  In a small bowl, mix together the cream cheese, sour cream and cottage cheese.  Make sure you mix this well.  The cream cheese tends to clump so having it soft when you start really helps.  Grease your 9×13 baking dish.  Once your pasta and your meat mixtures have cooked, you are ready to assemble the casserole.  Put half of the pasta in the bottom of your dish.  Top with the cream cheese mixture.  Finish off with the rest of the noodles and top with the meat mixture.  Top the whole dish with the cup of cheddar cheese.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  This is really tasty and can feed a pretty big family!  I plan on changing this recipe up some more so watch for an update.  I already have my redo wheels turning.

Hope your weekend is starting off right!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

