Better Late Then Never…I Guess

Oh dear it has been almost a month since I last made a post.  Where did the time go?  To be honest I am not surprised.  Life has been crazy!  After spring break, it was a mad rush to prepare our students for the big state test (which we are in the midst of right now).  As a special education teacher, it is also IEP season.  IEP’s are individualized education programs that we write for each individual student that we work with.  This consist of a document anywhere from 12 to 20 pages long.  Needless to say, extra typing/writing has not really been an option for me.  But it is winding down and I found a brief moment (Avery is in bed and the husband is watching basketball) to put some thoughts down on paper…. err… screen.   Here are a few fun things I did on my oh so brief but wonderful spring break.

IMG_0022

We went to our local zoo and had a picnic lunch and got our fill of the beautiful sunshine.  Too bad it wasn’t warmer that day!

IMG_0868

Avery up close and personal with the fishes!

IMG_0894

My sister and nephew came over one evening and we went for a walk.  The cousins loved to hold hands!

IMG_0893

That’s my girl!  Way to be a leader!

IMG_0901

The next day had no sun and was just ugly so Avery and I made our own sun!  Makes you smile right!

IMG_0020

For dinner we had pizza quesadillas.  These are seriously simple and delicious!  Need a quick weeknight meal.  This is a real winner!

Here’s what you need:

whole wheat tortillas

2 cups of cheese of choice: we mixed what we had on hand

1/4 lb pepperoni

can of pizza sauce

Here’s what you do:

Spread a thin layer of sauce on eight tortillas (this will make 4 quesadillas).  On 4 of the tortillas, layer cheese and pepperoni.  You can do as much or as little as you like.  I did about 1/2 cup for cheese on each and then just spread out the pepperoni as I liked.  Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Layer on a tortilla over filling side to create a quesadilla like sandwich.  Place the “sandwich” into the heated skillet and heat through to lightly brown the outside and melt the cheese.  I did not use butter in the skillet.  Figured I would save some calories.  Serve immediately!  Told ya quick and easy :).

Well I hope you have been having a wonderful month!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

