Wine and Pasta

With the weather turning nicer some good friends of ours invited us to a local vineyard for a picnic dinner.  What could be a better start to the week then a picnic outside with good friends and good wine?  Not much I would think :)!  We packed our picnic baskets full of yummy wine related foods: crackers, olives, pita chips, hummus and cheeses.  I felt like we were in one of those cool Indie films.  Life imitating art.

While the adults sat and enjoyed our wine, the girls had a great time running around and playing together.  I think they are BFF’s!

IMG_0944

 

The grass was wide and open and to Av, a runway of fun!  She would run up and down, laughing.  You can also see the delicious wine we enjoyed!

IMG_0939

 

IMG_0946

 

We had such a fun time!  It started our week off right.

The next morning I threw together a super easy, super delicious crock pot meal.  The night before had been so relaxed I didn’t want to break the trend.  I found the recipe on Pinterest and it didn’t have a name.  So…I am calling it Creamy Tortellini Soup.

IMG_0928

See!  Looks amazing right!  If you would like to make this meal (and I strongly encourage you to)…

Here’s what you need:

1 bag of frozen tortellini (I used a 19 oz bag)

1 bag of fresh spinach

2 cans of Italian style diced tomatoes

1 box of vegetable broth (I used low sodium and organic)

1 block of light cream cheese

Here’s what you do:

Place all ingredients in the crock pot.  I would break the cream cheese up.  Cook on low for 5-6 hours.  Then enjoy!

This makes a large pot and will give you leftovers.  This covered me for a couple of days on lunches.  J doesn’t eat leftovers so there was more for me :).  Speaking of,  my husband ( a non-soup person) dubbed this a winner and the best soup he has had in a while :)! This is one you can have almost all the ingredients on hand!  Add it to your dinner menu.  You won’t regret it!

Hope everyone has had a wonderful start to their week!

Go and Create!

Rachel

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Samantha says:

    Add tortellini in the last 20 mins of cooking or it will turn to glue!

    1. Rachel Miller says:

      To be honest I can’t remember what I did but that is a good call!

Leave a Reply

