Avocado Pesto Panini and Other Summer Treats

Now that the weather has warmed up I am craving fresh fruits and veggies.  Our garden is still in the growing stages so I have to rely on the grocery store and farmers markets for our summer goodies.  I am trying to make sure I am getting all those good vitamin’s into Avery at every meal.  So at breakfast I made homemade pancake sunshines using slices of orange.  Bright and fresh and oh so yummy!

image-1

 

Yes those are mini chocolate chips.  Hey what can I say we love chocolate over here :)!

I have also been getting really creative with snack time.

image-21

 

This was a huge hit!  I believe this is how we will do snack time from here on out!  The kids ate their plates clean!

image-2

 

I have also been looking for better and fresher dinner options.  This avocado pesto panini is delicious!  The combination of cheese, fresh veggies and pesto is amazing!

photo-25

 

Look at all those layers!  I grilled my sandwiches on a panini grill pan on the stove top.  It gives an amazing crispy outside with the grill marks.  However, you can make this just like you would a grilled cheese in a skillet.  Either way these are amazing!  If you would like to make these amazing sandwiches….

Here’s what you need:

bread of your choice (I used whole wheat)

2 medium sized tomatoes

8 slices of mozzarella cheese

1 avocado

1 jar of store bought pesto

 

Here’s what you do:

To assemble your sandwich, spread the pesto on one side of both slices of bread.  Layer a slice of cheese, thin slices of tomato and avocado and another slice of cheese.  Top with the second slice of bread.  Grill the sandwiches till browned and the cheese is melted.  This makes 4 sandwiches.

This is a sandwich for any night of the week!  It would also be something that you could serve to guests and be proud of it!

I hope your days are full of sunshine and fun!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

