Travel Treats: No Bake Pumpkin Cookie Balls

IMG_1893

This past weekend we traveled to Tennessee for my cousins wedding.  To prepare for the trip I wanted to make a healthy-ish treat for our journey (which was many hours long!).  Since it is fall I am totally into the pumpkin flavored… well everything!  I searched for a recipe that would help feed my pumpkin craving.  I found this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie.  I altered it somewhat based upon what I had in the house.  I am telling you these things are really good.  I took some to work and they were a huge hit with my teacher friends.  I had to stop myself from eating them all in one sitting!  I had a little helper assisting me in making these cookie balls.  Avie is totally into helping mommy in the kitchen.  She even helps unload the dish washer!  Anyway, she was in charge of stirring and…

IMG_1886

… putting the balls on the tray.  Not bad for a 2 year old!

IMG_1888

 

I had more of a mess to clean up but it was totally worth it for the memories :).

(The little stinker couldn’t stay still long enough to keep the picture from blurring.)

If you would like to make these cookie balls…

Here’s what you need:

  • 3/4 cup quick oats
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (or make your own by blending oats in a food processor until they become powder. Measure after blending, though I found it took 1/2 cup of oats to make a 1/2 cup of flour)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp of nutmeg
  • a pinch of clove (be careful to do only a pinch)
  • 1/4 cup of chopped dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 to 2 1/2 tablespoons milk of choice, as needed
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Here’s what you do:

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients including the pumpkin.  Mix the two together and form into balls.  Place the balls onto a cookies sheet and refrigerate for a couple of hours to firm up.  Store in the fridge.  Depending on the size of the ball you make it comes out to be about 24 balls.

These were a great little pick me up during a fun trip.

IMG_1894

 

They are also a fun seasonal treat…cuz who doesn’t LOVE pumpkin?!

Happy Tuesday Friends!

Go and Create,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

