It’s All Meatball Baby!

 

IMG_0109

I don’t know what it is about meatballs, but I feel so…domestic when I make my own.  I put on my pretty apron, pull out my tools and channel Donna Reed.  I found a pretty great recipe from Giada.  The original recipe is for mini meatballs but I make mine golf ball sized.  I wanted to use them for meatball sandwiches.  The recipe is simple and that’s just the way I like it.  I did alter it to meet our families needs.  Here is my version.  Unfortunately I wasn’t thinking and didn’t take a picture of the meatball like I should have.  They were all gone by the time I thought about it!

If you would like to make these meatballs…

Here’s what you need:

3 garlic cloves, minced
1 large egg
1/4 cup dried bread crumbs
3 tablespoons ketchup
1 tsp of dried Italian parsley
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 pound ground turkey meat
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 jar of marinara sauce
Package of hoagie buns
mozzarella cheese for topping

Here’s what you do:

Add the garlic, egg, bread crumbs, ketchup, 1 tbsp of olive oil, parsley, Parmesan, salt and pepper to a large bowl and blend. Mix in the turkey. Shape the turkey mixture into meatballs. Whatever size you would like.  Mine were golf ball sized.   Place on a large plate or baking sheet.

Heat 3 tbsp of oil in a heavy large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add the meatballs and saute until browned on all sides, about 5 minutes. Turn off heat. Transfer the meatballs to a plate. Pour off any excess oil. Add the marinara sauce, about 3 cups. Return all the meatballs to the pan. Turn the heat to medium-low and simmer until the sauce thickens slightly and the flavors blend, 20 to 25 minutes.

During the last 10 minutes of cooking, turn the broiler on high and toast the buns.

Assemble the sandwiches however you like.  I chose to make mine open-faced and piled on 3 meatballs and lots of yummy sauce.  I topped the whole thing with shredded mozzarella cheese.

seriously good!  I took left overs to work to share with my friends and they were very impressed :).

Hope you enjoy these sandwiches as much as we did!

Go and Create!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

